Attack on Titan Manga Author Wins Noma Publishing Culture Award

On November 4, Kodansha announced announced the winners of the 3rd Noma Publishing Culture Award- Hajime Isayama (Attack on Titan manga author), YOASOBI (two-member rock unit), Shizuka Ijuin (novelist), and Kadokawa Culture Museum (special prize). The prize money is one million yen (8,800 USD).

The award was established in 2019 as part of Kodansha's 110th anniversary celebration project. Its purpose is to honor individuals and organizations that have engaged in outstanding expressive activities related to publishing, regardless of its forms.

Isayama's Attack on Titan manga was serialized in Kodansha's Bessatsu Shonen Magazine from September 2009 to April 2021, and compiled in 34 tankobon volumes. The award's website writes the following about why it won this year's award:

The feature-length dark fantasy "Attack on Titan" (serialized in Bessatsu Shonen Magazine until 2021) has won the hearts of readers around the world with its meticulously calculated story, and has printed more than 100 million copies in total. into anime, merchandising, and games on a global scale, and a Hollywood live-action film is in the works. The impact it has had on manga culture around world is immeasurable.

1st and 34th tankobon volume covers:

Source: Kodansha

© Hajime Isayama / KODANSHA

Leave a comment
Stay up to date
Register now to get updates on promotions and coupons.

Shopping cart